We’ll show you how to keep your contacts from finding out that you have Telegram so that you don’t show up when they search for their contacts in the app. This is a little more complicated because this type of app is designed to communicate with contacts, and there is no invisible mode, but there is a workaround.
The quickest solution is to block the contact you don’t want to find you, but you won’t be able to communicate with them. As a result, we’ll go over the best option and the steps you’ll need to take to implement it. This is done to ensure that only the people in your contacts can find you on Telegram, and then your contacts are deleted.
To see the app options, start by opening the side menu. Once inside, click on the “Settings” option, which will appear with a gear icon and will allow you to change your Telegram settings.
Once you’re in the Telegram settings, go to the “Privacy and Security” section, which will have a padlock icon next to it.
You’ll be taken to a menu where you can see all of your Telegram account’s privacy and security options. Click the “Phone number” option in the Privacy section at the top of the page. Its purpose is to control who can see your phone number, but there is another option hidden behind it.
You’ll have to do two things here. First, select the “Nobody” option under “Who can see my phone number,” and new options will appear beneath. Choose the option “My contacts” where it says “Who can find me by my number?” Only the people on your contact list will be able to locate you using your phone number. As a result, make the changes in order for them to take effect. Exceptions can be added below.
However, you are likely to have your contacts linked to the app as well. Now you can return to the “Privacy and Security” section and select the “Delete synchronized contacts” option under the “Contacts” section. You should also turn off the “Synchronize contacts” option that you have just below.
If deleting all of your contacts is too drastic, you can also delete the contacts you don’t want to be found individually. To do so, go to the Telegram side menu and select “Contacts,” then pick one of them and select “Delete sync contact” from the three-dot menu at the top right.