28.3 C
Tuesday, January 18, 2022

Share, Connect and Discover via Spotify with Facebook!

Last week, Facebook revealed an extended collaboration with Spotify, which would introduce a new way to listen to music or podcasts directly inside the Facebook app. The companies have launched this integration today with a new “miniplayer” experience that allows Facebook users to access Spotifies content directly from the Facebook app on iOS or Android.

Spotify Premium users can now discover and listen to songs and episodes with complete playback right inside the Facebook app on iOS and Android while the Free users can get the same great experience by using the shuffle mode!

Here’s how to launch the Spotify miniplayer in Facebook:

1) Tap the “Play” button on the song you, your friend, family member, or favorite creator shared from Spotify to their Facebook News Feed.
2) The first time you’re using the miniplayer, you’ll see a consent dialog open—click on “Connect” to continue.
3) If you’re logged in to Spotify, the apps will automatically switch and playback will start from within the Spotify app. (If you’re not logged in, you will be prompted to do so.)
4) Music keeps playing even if you keep scrolling down your News Feed, but you’ll have control over playback options so you can pause or dismiss the miniplayer.


One thing to keep in mind about how this all works is that the integration allows the music or podcasts content to be played directly from the Spotify-app. When a user clicks play on the miniplayer, the app switches to Spotify, allowing the user to log in. The miniplayer launches and manages the app’s launch and playback, allowing playback to continue even as the user scrolls through Facebook or minimising the Facebook app entirely.


Prior to its global launch today, the miniplayer feature had been tested in non-US markets such as Mexico and Thailand. Apart from the United States, users in Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Israel, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, South Africa, Thailand, and Uruguay can now use this feature.

Related Articles

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles