33 C
Chennai
Friday, October 22, 2021

Google Photos Policy Update: Explained

Google Policy Update


With the rise in the Android users in the past, several Gmail accounts have been created and only a few are used daily. Some of us use various social media accounts like Facebook, Instagram, twitter with different email accounts.


Google regularly updates their policy and like that recently it has updated its google photos policy as well. After five years of providing unlimited free high-quality photo backups, Google Photos will start charging for storage once more than 15 gigs have been used on the account. The update will take effect on 1 June 2021. And it comes with other changes to Google Drive policy, such as counting Google Workspace documents and spreadsheets against the same limit. Google is now enforcing a new strategy for removing data from inactive accounts that have not been signed in for at least two years. Both images and documents uploaded before June 1st will not count against the 15GB limit, so you have plenty of time to decide whether to continue using Google Photos or move to another cloud storage service for your photos. Only images posted after June 1st will start counting against the limit. Google already counts “original quality” photo uploads against the Google Images storage limit. However, unrestricted backup for high-quality images and video (automated for more effective storage) is withdrawn as well as one of the largest sales points for the service. It was the photographic service, in which you had to think about how much room you had. Google states that it provides more free storage than most β€” you can get 15GB instead of the pale 5GB that iCloud gives you β€” and it also reports that 80 percent of Google Images users will not exceed the 15GB limit for at least 3 years.


Starting June 1, 2021, new photos and videos uploaded in High quality will begin counting towards your 15GB of Google Account storage.

Learn more here: https://t.co/SuS34HFjAu

β€” Google Photos (@googlephotos) November 11, 2020

When you start reaching this limit, the company sends notifications and warnings. Google also adds new storage management tools in Google Photos, including an easier to find and delete photographs, such as blurred images or screenshots, that you may not want. Google would also display how much longer the storage level will be time instead of gigabytes, a more accurate “personalized estimate.” It predicts how much longer any user would be able to use its current level for an average upload over time.


We have already made a detailed video about this policy change. You can watch if below. Also don’t forget to subscribe πŸ˜‰

Why the shift?

One probability is that having more individuals to sign up for Google One storage is part of a larger movement. At some of its higher stages, the service now also offers a free VPN for Android, and it seems as if many Google products are associated with Google One. In a short interview, Google’s response is simpler: there is already an almost overwhelming amount of images and videos uploaded to Google Photos, and the service needs to be sustainable.


Recently google photos tweeted that β€œ A remarkable 28 billion new photos and videos are uploaded to Photos every week. To welcome even more of your memories and build Google Photos for the future, we are announcing a change to our storage policy” 


A remarkable 28 billion new photos and videos are uploaded to Photos every week. To welcome even more of your memories and build Google Photos for the future, we are announcing a change to our storage policy.

Learn more here: https://t.co/SuS34HFjAu

β€” Google Photos (@googlephotos) November 11, 2020

What all will be counted?

“Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drawings, Forms and Jam board files” will also begin to count against storage caps alongside pictures. Google says the justification is to bring their policies more in line with industry standards.” As for the inactive account policy, it seems pretty reasonable: if you have not touched your gmail account for two years and do not reply in any way to the numerous alert emails and alerts sent to you by Google, your account details will be deleted by the company. That means Even the YouTube channels, drives and others google accounts connected to that will be deleted as well. This is how it is explained by Google 




Will they inform before deleting?


So google also says that Before they attempt to delete any content, they will inform you many times so that you have ample opportunity to take action. The best way to keep your account active is to visit Gmail, Drive or Images regularly on the web or smartphone. 


Now let me ask you. What you think of this move from google? How will this affect you put down in the comments section below?



Manishhttp://technspiceblog.com
Am a Tech Enthusiastic fond of new gadgets. Running the YouTube Channel Tech N Spice. Also managing the backend process of this website.

Related Articles

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

8,400FansLike
420FollowersFollow
15,300SubscribersSubscribe
- Advertisement -

Latest Articles